Institute of Control Systems (IRS)
TG

M. Sc. Thomas Gellrich

  • Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) Campus Süd
    Institut für Regelungs- und Steuerungssysteme
    Geb. 11.20 (Engler-Villa)
    Kaiserstr. 12
    D-76131 Karlsruhe

Curriculum Vitae

Studied electrical engineering and information technology at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) with a focus on control engineering and at the Universitat Politècnica de València in Valencia, Spain; Work experience at Alfred Kärcher GmbH & Co. KG in the field of robotics and at Dieffenbacher GmbH in the electrical design devision; 2015 master thesis entitled "Development of a nonlinear hybrid observer for reliable estimation of the rotor resistance of an asynchronous traction machine" at the Institute for Control Systems (IRS).

Since March 2016 research scientist at the FZI Research Center for Information Technology at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology in the research division Embedded Systems and Sensors Engineering (ESS).
Since March 2020 research scientist at the Institute for Control Systems (IRS).

 

Research

Modeling and control of multi-phase systems

Loop heat pipes are used in space applications and computer systems for energy-efficient thermal control. A heat pipe has the advantage that it enables the transport of large quantities of heat with a small cross-section, so that a high heat flow density is achieved. Especially with loop heat pipes, the heat transport is not stimulated by a pump but by capillary forces in a wick structure. In addition, the spatial separation of evaporation and condensation allows heat to be transported over longer distances to the sink. In this way, for example, satellite components are cooled in space.

In multiphase systems, such as the loop heat pipe, transient operating states occur due to thermodynamics, which increase the complexity of modeling and subsequent control. Therefore, the question arises as to how high the level of detail of a model for the design of a control system must be and how a combination of the controls of different operating states can be achieved.

The aim of this research is to find a control modeling mechanism for multiphase systems and to develop a suitable model-based control strategy. A major challenge is the dynamic description of thermodynamic processes.

Teaching

Publications


2019
2018

Institut für Regelungs- und Steuerungssysteme (IRS)
TG

M. Sc. Thomas Gellrich

  • Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) Campus Süd
    Institut für Regelungs- und Steuerungssysteme
    Geb. 11.20 (Engler-Villa)
    Kaiserstr. 12
    D-76131 Karlsruhe

Lebenslauf

Studium der Elektro- und Informationstechnik am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) mit dem Schwerpunkt Regelungs- und Steuerungstechnik sowie an der Universitat Politècnica de València in Valencia, Spanien; Praktische Tätigkeiten bei der Alfred Kärcher GmbH & Co. KG im Bereich Robotik und bei der Dieffenbacher GmbH in der Elektrokonstruktion; 2015 Masterarbeit mit dem Titel „Entwicklung eines nichtlinearen hybriden Beobachters zur gesicherten Schätzung des Rotorwiderstands einer Traktionsasynchronmaschine“ am Institut für Regelungs- und Steuerungssysteme (IRS).
Seit März 2016 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie im Forschungsbereich Embedded Systems and Sensors Engineering (ESS).

Seit März 2020 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am IRS.

Forschung

Modellierung und Regelung von Mehrphasensystemen

Zur energieeffizienten Thermalkontrolle werden in der Raumfahrt und in Computersystemen sogenannte Loop Heat Pipes eingesetzt. Eine Heat Pipe hat den Vorteil, dass sie den Transport von großen Wärmemengen bei kleinem Querschnitt ermöglicht, so dass eine hohe Wärmestromdichte erreicht wird. Speziell bei Loop Heat Pipes wird der Wärmetransport nicht durch eine Pumpe sondern durch Kapillarkräfte in einer Dochtstruktur angeregt. Außerdem kann durch die räumliche Trennung von Verdampfung und Kondensation Wärme über größere Strecken zur Senke transportiert werden. Auf diese Weise werden zum Beispiel Satellitenkomponenten im Weltraum gekühlt.

In Mehrphasensystemen, wie der Loop Heat Pipe, treten auf Grund der Thermodynamik instationäre Betriebszustände auf, die die Komplexität der Modellierung und anschließenden Regelung vergrößern. Daher stellt sich die Frage, wie hoch der Detaillierungsgrad eines Modells für den regelungstechnischen Zusammenhang sein muss und wie eine Vereinigung der Regelungen verschiedener Betriebszustände erreicht werden kann.

Ziel dieser Forschungsarbeit ist einen regelungstechnischen Modellierungsmechanismus für Mehrphasensysteme zu finden und daran eine geeignete modellbasierte Regelungsstrategie zu entwickeln. Eine wesentliche Herausforderung ist dabei die dynamische Beschreibung thermodynamischer Prozesse.

Lehre

Publikationen


2019
Nonlinear Model Identification Adaptive Heater Control Design for Loop Heat Pipes.
Gellrich, T.; Zhang, X.; Schwab, S.; Hohmann, S.
2019. IEEE Conference on Control Technology and Applications (CCTA), 679–684, IEEE, Piscataway, NJ. doi:10.1109/CCTA.2019.8920525
2018
Two-Degree-of-Freedom Heater Control of a Loop Heat Pipe Based on Stationary Modeling.
Gellrich, T.; Meinicke, S.; Knipper, P.; Hohmann, S.; Wetzel, T.
2018. 48th International Conference on Environmental Systems (ICES-2018), Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA, 8-12 July, 2018
Model-Based Heater Control Design for Loop Heat Pipes.
Gellrich, T.; Schuermann, T.; Hobus, F.; Hohmann, S.
2018. 2018 IEEE Conference on Control Technology and Applications (CCTA), Copenhagen, Denmark, 21–24 August 2018, 527–532, IEEE, Piscataway, NJ. doi:10.1109/CCTA.2018.8511470