Home | deutsch  | Impressum | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

RegEnKibo

Regionalization of Energy Supply on the Distribution Grid Level using the Model Location Kirchheimbolanden (RegEnKibo)
123

Project Description

In the course of the “Energiewende”, the existing centralized energy supply system will get more decentralized due to strongly volatile input of renewable energy into the distribution grid level. The research project is aimed at studying how energy supply can be regionalized on the distribution grid level in order to minimize the exchange of electric power between the transmission grid and distribution grid and to reduce the required grid extension activities. The model location for the research project is the city of Kirchheimbolanden in Rhineland-Palatinate.

 

Innovative Approach

The innovative project approach consists in the interim storage of the regionally produced power that cannot be consumed directly by optimized operations management schemes in the gas grid and in keeping the energy in the region in the medium term. For this operation mode that is also referred to as sector coupling, a power-to-gas facility with three-phase methanation and cogeneration plants are studied as converters between power grid and gas grid.

 

Project Duration:

June 01, 2015 - May 30, 2018

Project Partners:

e-rp GmbH (project coordinator), Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) (institutes involved: Institute of Electric Energy Systems and High-Voltage Engineering, Engler-Bunte Institute, Institute for Control Systems), DVGW test laboratory at the Engler-Bunte Institute of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, (KIT), Bingen Transfer Office  (TSB), Viessmann Group, city of Kirchheimbolanden

Funded by:

BMBF

Contact Person:

Prof. h. c. Dr.-Ing. Mathias Kluwe

Project Homepage:

http://forschung-stromnetze.info/en/projects/regional-power-consumption-helps-avoid-grid-expansion/

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

RegEnKibo

Regionalisierung der Energieversorgung auf Verteilnetzebene am Modellstandort Kirchheimbolanden (RegEnKibo)
123

Projektbeschreibung

Im Rahmen der Energiewende wird die bisher zentrale Energieversorgung durch eine dezentrale, stark schwankende Einspeisung von Erneuerbaren Energien in die Stromnetze abgelöst und die Energieversorgung dadurch auf die Verteilnetzebene hin verlagert. Das Forschungsprojekt baut darauf auf und untersucht, wie eine Regionalisierung der Energieversorgung auf Verteilnetzebene erreicht werden kann, um den Austausch von elektrischer Energie zwischen Übertragungsnetz und Verteilnetz möglichst gering zu halten und den erforderlichen Netzausbau hierdurch zu reduzieren. Modellstandort für das Forschungsvorhaben ist die Stadt Kirchheimbolanden in Rheinland-Pfalz.

 

Innovativer Ansatz

Der innovative Projektansatz besteht darin, den aus regenerativer Energierzeugung regional anfallenden Strom, der nicht direkt verbraucht werden kann, durch eine optimierte Betriebsführung im Gasnetz zwischenzuspeichern und damit mittelfristig dessen Energie in der Region zu halten. Für diese auch als Sektorenkopplung bezeichnete Arbeitsweise werden als Konverter zwischen Strom- und Gasnetz eine Power-to-Gas-Anlage mit Drei-Phasen-Methanisierung sowie Blockheizkraftwerke untersucht.

 

Projektlaufzeit:

Juni 2015 bis Mai 2018

Projektpartner:

e-rp GmbH (Verbundkoordinator), Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) (beteiligte Institute: Institut für Elektroenergiesysteme und Hochspannungstechnik, Engler-Bunte-Institut, Institut für Regelungs- und  Steuerungssysteme), DVGW-Forschungsstelle am Engler-Bunte-Institut des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT), Transferstelle Bingen (TSB), Viessmann Gruppe, Stadt Kirchheimbolanden

Geldgeber:

BMWi

Ansprechpartner:

Prof. h. c. Dr.-Ing. Mathias Kluwe

Projekthomepage:

http://forschung-stromnetze.info/projekte/regionaler-stromverbrauch-erspart-netzausbau/