Home | deutsch  | Impressum | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT
LK

M. Sc. Lukas Kölsch

Research Associate
Group: 

Alternative Energy Systems


Room: 002
Phone: +49 721 608 - 43237
Fax: +49 721 608 - 42707
lukas koelschPpd3∂kit edu

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
Campus Süd
Institut für Regelungs- und Steuerungssysteme
Geb. 11.20 (Engler-Villa)
Kaiserstr. 12
D-76131 Karlsruhe



Curriculum Vitae

Studies of electrical engineering and information technology at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Bachelor’s thesis at the Institute of Control Systems on algebraic identification of fractional systems (2013). Work in the “Plant Optimization” group of Asea Brown Boveri (ABB) AG. Master’s thesis at the IRS on convex operation optimization of multi-domain energy grids.

Since May 2016, member of the scientific staff of IRS.

Research

Stability and fail-safe operation of distributed multimodal energy grids

Due to market-related and political requirements, conventional power plants are gradually replaced by regenerative energy producers. This results in an increasing volatility in the power grid. Power input over the day is increasingly difficult to predict, difficult to control, and has a high slew rate. By interconnecting in a multimodal grid the electric power distribution grid with the local natural gas and heat grids or other power grids, if applicable, imbalances between generation and consumption can be balanced across domain limits. At the same time, synergy effects result as regards the optimal overall operation point compared to the optimal points of the separate individual grids.

It is not yet clear, however, whether and to what an extent such an interconnection has a stabilizing or destabilizing effect on the individual domains and their stabilization mechanisms. This can be found out by a generalized robustness analysis of the overall grid taking into account the heterogeneous systems dynamics of the individual domains and energy converters. Research is aimed at developing generic systems theory methods to assess the stability and failure safety of multimodal power grids.

Teaching

  

Open Theses
Title Type
Master Thesis
Masterarbeit


Current Theses
Title Type Person in Charge
Master Thesis

Tianqi Yu

Bachelor Thesis

Rishabh Vyas

Bachelor Thesis

Lena Zellmann

Master Thesis

Katharina Wieninger



Publications


2019
2018
2016

Institut für Regelungs- und Steuerungssysteme (IRS)
LK

M. Sc. Lukas Kölsch

  • Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
    Campus Süd
    Institut für Regelungs- und Steuerungssysteme
    Geb. 11.20 (Engler-Villa)
    Kaiserstr. 12
    D-76131 Karlsruhe

Lebenslauf

Studium der Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Bachelorarbeit am Institut für Regelungs- und Steuerungssysteme über die algebraische Identifikation fraktionaler Systeme (2013). Praktische Tätigkeiten in der Abteilung „Plant Optimization“ der Asea Brown Boveri (ABB) AG. Masterarbeit am IRS zur konvexen Betriebsoptimierung von Multi-Domänen-Energienetzen.
Seit Mai 2016 Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am IRS.

Forschung

Stabilität und Ausfallsicherheit in verteilten multimodalen Energienetzen

Marktbedingt und infolge politischer Zielvorgaben werden konventionelle Kraftwerke Schritt für Schritt durch regenerative Energieerzeuger verdrängt. Damit einhergehend steigt die Volatilität im elektrischen Netz: Der Tagesverlauf der elektrischen Einspeisung wird zunehmend schlecht vorhersagbar, schlecht steuerbar und besitzt eine hohe Flankensteilheit. Durch Zusammenschaltung des elektrischen Energieverteilnetzes mit dem lokalen Erdgas- und Wärmenetz sowie ggf. weiteren Energienetzen zu einem multimodalen Gesamtnetz können Ungleichgewichte zwischen momentaner Erzeugung und momentanem Verbrauch über die Domänengrenzen hinweg ausgeglichen werden, während sich gleichzeitig Synergieeffekte hinsichtlich des optimalen Gesamtbetriebspunkts im Vergleich zu den Optimalpunkten der isolierten Einzelnetze ergeben. 

Weitgehend unklar ist jedoch bisher, ob und inwiefern eine solche Zusammenschaltung stabilisierend bzw. destabilisierend auf die Einzeldomänen mitsamt ihren bestehenden Stabilisierungsmechanismen wirkt. Hierzu bedarf es einer generalisierten Robustheitsanalyse des Gesamtnetzes, die den heterogenen Systemdynamiken der Einzeldomänen und der Energiekonverter Rechnung trägt. Ziel meiner Forschung ist daher die Entwicklung generischer, systemtheoretischer Methoden zur Beurteilung der Stabilität und Ausfallsicherheit multimodaler Energienetze. 

Lehre

Publikationen


2020
2019
2018
2016