Home | deutsch  | Impressum | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Institute (FZI, ESS)

The FZI Research Center for Information Technology at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology is a non-profit institution for applied research in information technology and technology transfer. Its task is to provide businesses and public institutions with the latest research findings in information technology. It also qualifies young researchers for careers in academics or business as well as self-employment.

Embedded Systems and Sensors Engineering (ESS).

The Board of Scientific Directors is composed of the Directors of the four FZI Research Divisions. The Scientific Directors are full-time professors at universities and feel highly committed to quickly transferring their research results to business and industry. For this purpose, they use the transfer-oriented infrastructure of the FZI. The Scientific Directors run research departments that are organized in four FZI Research Divisions:

• Software Engineering (SE)

• Information Process Engineering (IPE)

• Intelligent Systems and Production Engineering (ISPE)

• Embedded Systems and Sensors Engineering (ESS)

Embedded Systems and Sensors Engeneering

The Embedded Systems and Sensors Engineering (ESS) Research Division (ESS) concentrates on innovative technologies, design and security methods, and applications for and of embedded systems. The ESS Research Division designs, develops, and evaluates practical applications involving embedded systems, with the activities ranging from the development of model-based design methods and tools to technology-oriented research to application-oriented research and development projects.

Workshop and IT

Workshop

The workshop is responsible for the construction, maintenance, and repair of electrical and mechanical facilities. It also supports the scientific staff and students in the completion of various engineering projects. In addition, the workshop is in charge of regular safety inspections of all facilities.

IT

The IT staff ensures availability, data security, and regular maintenance and update of all relevant hardware and software components at the Institute. Their work also covers the implementation and maintenance of database systems to administrate processes at the Institute as well as the software configuration of all experimental facilities. The IT staff is pleased to answer any questions students and employees may have with respect to the hardware and software.

Guarantees by Design

Engineers face the challenge to consider all possible uncertainties during the development of a technical product. This is a crucial point in every development process and needs special attention for safety critical systems. Therefore, guaranteed statements about the behavior of technical systems are particularly important.

To accomplish such challenges, innovative descriptions of these systems are required. The research group Guarantees by Design investigates methods to design specifications and develops systems which create (estimation) or satisfy (control) guaranteed boundaries. In an estimation setting, these guarantees are interpreted as certain intervals enclosing the states while in the control setting, the guarantees are interpreted as operational limits which are given by the application. Particularly methods weakening requirements, reducing or simplifying assumptions bear the potential to save time and costs. Furthermore, formalized methods are less error prone and are thus leading to more reliable results.

Alternative Energy Systems

Sustainability is a major concern to today’s society. A central issue is how our future energy system can be based on renewable energy sources exclusively. Energy storage is gaining importance not only in this area, but also in the electric mobility sector. For this spectrum of applications, the Alternative Energy Systems Group develops innovative methods relating to energy grids and battery systems.

Cooperative Systems

How will automation interact with humans in the future?

How to create synergies between humans and machines in the context of Industry 4.0?


The research group Cooperative Systems develops a framework for modeling and control of interactions between humans and machines. The individual strengths of human and machine are combined to achieve high performance systems, ready to meet future challenges of automation. The fields of applications are e.g. Advanced Driver Assistance Systems, Robotics, Medical Technologies and Aerospace Engineering.

Institute of Control Systems

The Institute of Control Systems (IRS) was established in 1965 as a university research institute. Since then, it has been standing for excellence in research and academic education. Motivated by current challenges facing society, we develop methods for the modeling, estimation, identification, and control of complex dynamic systems.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Forschungszentrum Informatik

Das FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie ist eine gemeinnützige Einrichtung für Informatik-Anwendungsforschung und Technologietransfer. Es bringt die neuesten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse der Informationstechnologie in Unternehmen und öffentliche Einrichtungen und qualifiziert junge Menschen für eine akademische und wirtschaftliche Karriere oder den Sprung in die Selbstständigkeit.

Das Direktorium setzt sich aus den Direktoren der Forschungsbereiche zusammen, die sämtlich im Hauptamt Professoren von Universitäten sind, sich in besonderem Maß dem zeitnahen Transfer ihrer Forschungsergebnisse in die Wirtschaft verpflichtet fühlen, dies in Eigenverantwortung und auf Eigeninitiative tun wollen und dazu die auf den Transfer besonders ausgerichtete gemeinsame Infrastruktur des FZI nutzen. Die Direktoren leiten am FZI Forschungsabteilungen, die vier Forschungsbereiche Software Engineering (SE), Information Process Engineering (IPE), Intelligent, Systems and Production Engineering (ISPE) und Embedded Systems and Sensors Engineering (ESS).

Embedded Systems and Sensors Engeneering

Der Forschungsbereich Embedded Systems and Sensors Engineering (ESS) beschäftigt sich mit innovativen Technologien, Entwurfs- und Absicherungsmethoden sowie Anwendungen für und von eingebetteten Systemen. Von modellbasierten Entwurfsmethoden und -werkzeugen über technologieorientierte Forschung bis hin zu anwendungsorientierten Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekten – der Forschungsbereich ESS gestaltet und entwickelt praxistaugliche Anwendungen rund um eingebettete Systeme und evaluiert diese.

Werkstatt und IT

Werkstatt

Die Werkstatt ist zuständig für den Aufbau, die Wartung, sowie die Instandsetzung der elektrischen und mechanischen Anlagen. Zusammen mit den wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitern und Abschlussarbeitern werden jeweilige Projekte realisiert und außerdem entsprechende Anlagen regelmäßig auf Sicherheit geprüft.

IT

Die IT-Abteilung sorgt für die Verfügbarkeit, Datensicherheit und die periodische Wartung und Aktualisierung aller relevanten Hard- und Softwarekomponenten am Institut. Zu den Aufgaben gehören außerdem die Implementierung und Wartung von Datenbanksystemen zur Verwaltung von Prozessen am Institut sowie die Konfiguration der Software aller Versuchsanlagen. Bei Fragen der Studierenden und Mitarbeitern bezüglich Hard- und Software steht die IT-Abteilung auch jederzeit zur Verfügung.

Systeme mit Garantien

Für viele regelungstechnische Aufgabenstellungen sind umfangreiche theoretische Ansätze und Methoden vorhanden und werden stets weiterentwickelt. Allerdings ist die Überprüfung des sicheren Betriebs von Systemen, die mit solchen Methoden entworfen wurden, sehr aufwendig.

Das Ziel der Forschungsgruppe Systeme mit Garantien ist die Verringerung dieses Aufwands. Hierfür werden alle auftretenden Unsicherheiten in einem technischen System bereits während der Entwicklung systematisch berücksichtigt. Dies wird durch die Entwicklung durchgängiger Methoden von der Modellierungs- und Entwurfsphase bis zur Verifikation der gestellten Anforderungen ermöglicht.

Alternative Energiesysteme

Nachhaltigkeit ist ein wichtiges Anliegen unserer heutigen Gesellschaft. Eine zentrale Frage ist dabei, wie sich unser zukünftiges Energiesystem allein auf Basis erneuerbarer Energien aufstellen lässt. Nicht nur in diesem Bereich gewinnt die Speicherung von Energie an Bedeutung, sondern auch in der Elektromobilität. Für dieses Spektrum an Anwendungsfeldern entwickelt die Arbeitsgruppe Alternative Energiesysteme innovative Verfahren in den beiden Forschungsschwerpunkten Energienetze und Batteriesysteme.

Kooperative Systeme

Wie interagieren Menschen und automatisierte Systeme in Zukunft?

Wie lassen sich Synergien in der Zusammenarbeit von Menschen und Maschinen im Kontext der Industrie 4.0 nutzen?

Die Forschungsgruppe Kooperative Regelungstechnik entwickelt Konzepte zur Modellierung und Regelung der Interaktion zwischen Menschen und Maschinen. Die individuellen Stärken von Mensch und Maschine werden hierbei kombiniert, um hochperformante Systeme zu erschaffen, welche die zukünftigen Herausforderungen der Automatisierungstechnik bewältigen können. Die Anwendungsgebiete finden sich beispielsweise bei hochentwickelten Fahrerassistenzsystemen oder in der Robotik, Medizintechnik sowie Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik.

Institut für Regelungs- und Steuerungssysteme

Das Institut für Regelungs- und Steuerungssysteme (IRS) wurde 1965 als universitäres Forschungsinstitut gegründet und steht seither für Exzellenz in Forschung und akademischer Lehre. Motiviert durch aktuelle gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen entwickeln wir Methoden zur Modellierung, Schätzung, Identifikation und Regelung komplexer dynamischer Systeme.