Institute of Control Systems (IRS)
AM

M. Sc. Albertus Malan

  • Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) Campus Süd
    Institut für Regelungs- und Steuerungssysteme
    Geb. 11.20 (Engler-Villa)
    Kaiserstr. 12
    D-76131 Karlsruhe

Curriculum Vitae

Electronic Engineering at the University of Pretoria (UP), South Africa, Bachelor’s Thesis: Design of a Two Axis Stabilised Gimbal (2015). Design engineer at Airbus DS Optronics GmbH, Oberkochen, in the Stabilised Platforms department (2016 - 2017). Electrical Engineering and Information Technology at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Master’s Thesis at the Institute of Control Systems (IRS) on the topic Plug-and-Play Control and Stability Analysis of Inverter-Based AC Microgrids (2019).
Research associate at the Institute of Control Systems (IRS) since July 2019.

Research

High Level Plug-and-Play-Based Control Strategies for Multi-Carrier Energy Systems

Multi-Carrier Energy Systems:
Future energy systems will no longer simply comprise the disjointed electricity, heating and gas networks, but will instead focus on an interconnected, holistic approach. The aim of a joint consideration of these energy systems is the increased the robustness and flexibility achievable by balancing out the energy surpluses or deficiencies amongst the various energy systems. In light of the accelerating trend towards renewable energy sources (RESs) in the electrical grid especially, interconnecting the various energy domains provides a potential means of compensating for the inherent intermittency with which RESs generate power.

Plug-and-Play: Due to the large number of RESs needed to satisfy current and future electricity demands, the tried and tested centralised control structures traditionally used for regulating large power stations are unsuited for an electrical grid dominated by numerous sources spread out over a large distance. Similar to the peripherals of modern computer, a Plug-and-Play compatible approach would allow energy sources to connect to and disconnect from the energy networks seamlessly and without a central authority required to govern and configure the sources.

High Level: Beyond simply regulating the fundamental variables of the energy networks (e.g. the voltages and frequency for the electrical grid), high-level objectives – such as the interaction and coordination of components in and among the various energy systems and considerations for the flow of power – must be considered to realise efficient and symbiotic interactions between the various energy systems.

Publications


2020
A scalable port-hamiltonian approach to plug-and-play voltage stabilization in DC microgrids.
Strehle, F.; Pfeifer, M.; Malan, A. J.; Krebs, S.; Hohmann, S.
2020
A scalable port-hamiltonian approach to plug-and-play voltage stabilization in DC microgrids.
Strehle, F.; Pfeifer, M.; Malan, A. J.; Krebs, S.; Hohmann, S.
2020. 2020 IEEE Conference on Control Technology and Applications (CCTA), 24-26 August 2020, online, 787–794, IEEE. doi:10.1109/CCTA41146.2020.9206323
2019
A Port-Hamiltonian Approach to Plug-And-Play Voltage and Frequency Control in Islanded Inverter-Based AC Microgrids.
Strehle, F.; Malan, A. J.; Krebs, S.; Hohmann, S.
2019. 58th IEEE Conference on Decision and Control (CDC), Nice, F, December 11-13, 2019
Passivity-Based Plug-and-Play Voltage and Frequency Control in Islanded Inverter-Based AC Microgrids.
Strehle, F.; Malan, A. J.; Krebs, S.; Hohmann Sören.
2019. 58th IEEE Conference on Decision and Control, Nice, F, December 11-13, 2019, 4648–4655, IEEE, Piscataway (NJ). doi:10.1109/CDC40024.2019.9029272

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT
AM

M. Sc. Albertus Malan

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter
Gruppe: 

Alternative Energiesysteme


Raum: 206
Tel.: +49 721 608-42708
Fax: +49 721 608-42707
albertus malanFcp4∂kit edu

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) Campus Süd
Institut für Regelungs- und Steuerungssysteme
Geb. 11.20 (Engler-Villa)
Kaiserstr. 12
D-76131 Karlsruhe


Lebenslauf

Studium der Elektrotechnik an der Universität von Pretoria (UP), Südafrika, Bachelorarbeit: „Entwurf einer stabilisierten zweiachsigen kardanischen Aufhängung“ (2015). Entwicklungsingenieur bei Airbus DS Optronics GmbH, Oberkochen, in der Abteilung stabilisierter Sichtsysteme (2016 - 2017). Studium der Elektro- und Informationstechnik am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Masterarbeit am Institut für Regelungs- und Steuerungssysteme (IRS) zum Thema „Plug-and-Play Regelung und Stabilitätsanalyse von inverter-basierten AC Microgrids“ (2019).
Seit Juli 2019 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am IRS.

Forschung

Plug-and-Play basierte Regelungsansätze auf höhere Ebenen für sektorübergreifende Energiesysteme

Sektorübergreifende Energiesysteme:
Die Energiesysteme der Zukunft werden die Strom-, Wärme- und Gasnetze nicht mehr abgesondert betrachtet werden. Stattdessen werden sie dank neuer Kopplungen einen vernetzten, ganzheitlichen Ansatz ermöglichen. Ziel einer solchen gemeinsamen Betrachtung der Energiesysteme ist die Erhöhung der Robustheit und Flexibilität, die durch den Ausgleich der Energieüberschüsse oder -defizite zwischen den verschiedenen Energiesystemen erreicht werden können. Als Beispiel bietet die Vernetzung der verschiedenen Energiebereiche die Möglichkeit, die inhärent schwankenden Erzeugungsprofile der erneuerbaren Energiequellen (EEn) zu kompensieren. Dies ist hinsichtlich des wachsenden Anteils der EEn im Stromnetz zunehmend wichtig und relevant.

Plug-and-Play: Um den aktuellen und zukünftigen Strombedarf emissionsfrei zu decken fordert eine große Anzahl erneuerbarer Energiequellen. Allerdings sind die herkömmlichen zentralen Regelungsstrukturen, die bislang zur Regelung der Großkraftwerke eingesetzt werden, nicht zum Anwenden im Stromnetzte mit einer hohen Anzahl geographisch verteilter EEn geeignet. Ähnlich wie die Peripheriegeräte moderner Rechner würde ein Plug-and-Play basierter Ansatz es Energiequellen ermöglichen, sich nahtlos und ohne eine zentrale Verwaltung mit den Energienetzen zu verbinden oder von ihnen zu trennen.

Auf höhere Ebenen: Neben der Regelung der grundlegenden Variablen der Energienetze (z.B. der Spannungen und Frequenzen für das Stromnetz) müssen übergeordnete Ziele berücksichtigt werden, um einen effizienten und symbiotischen Austausch zwischen den verschiedenen Energiesystemen zu gestalten. Diese übergeordneten Ziele schließen z.B. sowohl die Interaktion und Koordination der verschiedenen Energiesysteme als auch die Betrachtung der Leistungsflüsse ein.

Lehre

Publikationen


2019
Passivity-Based Plug-and-Play Voltage and Frequency Control in Islanded Inverter-Based AC Microgrids.
Strehle, F.; Malan, A. J.; Krebs, S.; Hohmann Sören.
2019. 58th IEEE Conference on Decision and Control, Nice, F, December 11-13, 2019, IEEE, Piscataway, NJ